So, I'm going to shoot a wedding

zulu42

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This is for a friend/coworker. He knows I'm a photography hobbyist, and has seen some of my images.

I gave the couple my best speech on why they should hire a pro. Talked about how much they are spending on the wedding for temporary things: dress, venue, catering, and how the photographs would be some of the most important and lasting things to remember the wedding. I just couldn't convince them to hire a real photographer - "we would be happy with cell phone snapshots, so whatever you can do will be great"

Of course, the bride proceeds to show me her Flickr collection of image ideas - filled with brilliant images by obviously talented professionals.

Anyway, I'm doing it. There's some challenges I'm hoping to get help with. I'm using my Nikon D5100. I have 3 Nikkor lenses: the kit 18-55, a 50mm f1.8, and a 70-300 (probably won't even bring the 70-300). I have two Yongnuo speedlights with a remote. I also have a couple of light stands and umbrellas.

Biggest challenge: low light. Wedding is in December, indoors, in the evening. I'll be relying heavily on those speedlights. The venue has high ceilings and tungsten chandeliers and some recessed ceiling lights. I snuck in there yesterday to look at the place and take some test shots, but it was daytime.
I'm considering renting a faster lens, like a Tamron SP 24-70 f/2.8 Di VC from lensrentals dot com. Opinions?

Group shots: I'm thinking I will use the two speedlights on stands and hope they will light the groups enough. Should I gel the speedlights to try and match the tungsten?

Walk around shots: I will either try and carry a speedlight with one hand and shoot with the other, or maybe mount a speedlight on the camera. I also use a "rogue flashbender" to bounce/flag/snoot the speedlight.