So long, no see...

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by texkid, May 27, 2009.

1. texkid

texkid TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Howdy y'all. I am still a beginner. I started here a WHILE back. Unfortunately, I am still in nursing school and it is still dominating my life. But, I do manage to take some photos. I have noticed since I purchased my DSLR that people assume that I am a "professional photographer". I laugh and let them know that I am just a avid fan of photography. Anyway, I just wanted to post some pics. Please feel free to remind me what I am doing wrong. I am trying to grasp the rule of third. Unfortunately, I still can't get the hang of getting those cool motion pictures where the subject is still while the background is in blur. I am always screwing up on something. The shutter speed is too slow/fast, I zoomed to close/not enough, or I forgot to turn on the camera (not as common as you might think). Have fun y'all!

The following were at the Scion Expo. I own a '08 Toyota Yaris and so couple of Yaris owners had a mini-meeting and had fun riding the Corollas drifting around the parking lot (yes, it was legal).

Camera: Sony Alpha 200, standard 18-70mm lens, polarizing lens filter, a pack of cigarettes.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The following set was from me and friend meeting up at the Woodlands and taking photos of our cars.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: May 27, 2009
  2. Baaaark

Baaaark TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    All I've done is read a few books and take to a few pros, but as far as I can tell, they're good. I like the last photo... Maybe take out some of the pavement or sky to follow the rule of thirds?

BTW, I like that red car, too. It looks like a red egg.

3. texkid

texkid TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit