So many questions

Discussion in 'General Shop Talk' started by sunbeam, Jul 23, 2009.

1. sunbeam

sunbeam TPF Noob!

Hey Everyone,
    I've been working on my portfolio for about 6 months now, and have not been charging people for sessions etc. However, I am receiving alot of requests, and am considering starting to charge. My ultimate goal, is to open a studio. But until then, I would like to have any advice on how to take this from 'portfolio building' more of a business. I'm thinking of a website , but have absolutely no idea how to create my own . Also, where do I find contracts, or do I create my own? I am not certain what to price sessions/photos. Also, I am from Canada, so I am wondering if there are pro labs here to use for printing? If anyone can offer any help, it would be sooo much apreciated! Thanks for taking the time to read this!

2. KmH

KmH Helping photographers learn to fish Supporting Member

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Business and Legal Forms for Photographers by Tad Crawford.

Tad explains why the contracts say what they say.

Go to www.asmp.org click on 'Business Resources' > 'Tutorials and Forms'.
    Also check out their pricing guides. Get their book Professional Business Practices in Photography.

And the book Best Business Practices for Photographers by John Harrington. You can also visit John's web site www.johnharington.com and follow his blog.

It's a good idea to understand copyright so visit and bookmark www.copyright.gov .

Successful photography businesses are built on good paperwork.

Last edited: Jul 23, 2009
  3. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Start by getting a business license, registering your business name and getting a web site domain name registered.