So now I'm a professional photographer.....what????

Chicagophotoshop

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.chicagophotoshop.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi my name is Jeff and I'm new around here. great forum BTW.:hugs:

for a few years I installed wireless antennas on top of highrise buildings in Chicago. as you might imagine, the view from the roof of these 90 story buildings is amazing. in the beginning I had a small Olympus 3MP camera with me. nothing special but still took some cool shots.

I have since left that job and work indoors. I also have upgraded to a NikonD100 and have a much higher appreciation for photography.

with the pics I have taken through the years, I am close to starting a website selling my pictures and the pics of whoever else would like to sell on my site.

at first it was all about the money. but more and more each day, I learn to appreciate the power of a good picture.

thanks all

From what I could gather the web is a tricky place to earn a living. Seems saturated with global competition. Possibly hard to stand out. Why don't you work your photos (not pictures) locally?

From what I could gather the web is a tricky place to earn a living. Seems saturated with global competition. Possibly hard to stand out.

by no means do I plan on doing this for a living. I have a day job.

Why don't you work your photos (not pictures) locally?
what do you mean?

Why do you consider yourself a professional photographer now then? I think I would slow down and concentrate on my photography for a while.
I dont. the title of my thread was somewhat sarcastic. the goal of my site is to showcase the beautiful city of chicago and beyond. if people want to buy them, great, the option is there. if real pros want to sell on my site, the platform is there.

as time has gone on, I have learned alot about photography and have a much higher appreciation for it. I will probably never consider myself a pro, but enthusiast, for sure.