So really, where do people buy photos?

molested_cow

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
img24.photobucket.com
Nah this isn't about "how can I make money from photographs".

Since I got my digital SLR last April, things really started to kick in. I've been playing with 35mm SLRs for about 10 years, mostly self-taught and trial and error. However I am never a very diligent student and I don't make the effort to record my settings vs the results, so I never really "got" the relationship between aperture and DOF. Since I wasn't doing the developing and printing myself, darkroom possibilities was limited too. All I could do was editing the scans in photoshop.

Then came digital, the immediate review of the result helped me really learn my lens quickly. I know which aperture will yield what kind of DOF on which lens and setting. The power of RAW allows me to explore the possibilities of post processing and other techniques like stacking and HDR. Also, the past year had been my most traveled year, giving me a ton of opportunities to practice what I've learned. This is also when I find my photo results becoming much more predictable and consistent, making people "WOW" more frequently.

Then comes to the sharing part. So far I only share by posting them here and there. It's really limited. I'm not trying to get famous or something, but just want to share the good stuffs. I would like to make prints of some of my photos, but then the bigger question hit me. Where do people buy photos?

Or rather, do people buy photos?

I am asking this because... if I am an average Joe, have no technical knowledge about all the stuffs about photography nor its theory. I know I like something when I see it. I am not an art collector. Again, just an average Joe. When, where, why would I buy an photograph?