So ummmm.....

bronc_fan23

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new here. I'm a photographer for my High School yearbook. Photography has always been an interest for me and always will be.

Today I took some pictures of my JV High School football team.

This was with a Nikon D50 and a 80-200mm lens.

What did I do wrong?

dsc_0032.jpg

dsc_0039.jpg

dsc_0076.jpg

looks like your shutter speed needs to be faster. You can do that by bumping up the ISO and opening up your aperature to its widest setting

fightheheathens said:
looks like your shutter speed needs to be faster. You can do that by bumping up the ISO and opening up your aperature to its widest setting

So pretty much same old story for alot of people taking football photos.
Haha

Thanks a bunch!

It's just because the amount of action going on.
So you need to set the shutter speed faster and it also seems like your moving the camera with the flow.
So you need to practice smoother panning techniques.

Photographing sporting events is always tough with the amounts of movment.

Keep at it.

Your timing and composition is great though. Speed up the shutter and adjust exposure accordingly and you will be golden.

Welcome to the forum.

Were you using the 70-200 F4? or the 70-200 F2.8?
I'm guessing that it was the F4...but I may be wrong.

As others have pointed out...you need to use a faster shutter speed. This can be a problem because the lighting on football fields is usually pretty poor, and this one looks to be no exception. You will need to use your widest aperture and then maybe adjust your ISO higher...and that may still not be enough.

Have you seen the lenses that Pro photographers use at football games? They are easy to spot because they are huge...and they are so heavy that use of a mono pod is almost mandatory. Those lenses cost about as much as a small car....but that it what it takes to get their shots...and those games have better light that you have here...so you may be fighting a loosing battle.