Some advice for a 35mm film camera?

bla

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey all,

It's been a while since I've visited this forum, but its good to see that the community is still great.

I've recently run into a little conundrum with my existing 35mm film camera. I own a Sigma SA9 SLR, with what appears to be a pretty crappy 25-105mm f/3.8-5.6 kit lens. I don't have any problems with the body, it's great to hold and feels very solid, and any features I need are there.

However, I feel that the lens I have might be slightly limited (let me know if it isn't, it would be great). What's more, the tripod screw insert of the camera recently broke on me while I was fastening it to my tripod and fell out...sucks...:grumpy: And without an insert to attach the tripod to, I can't even take interior pictures with my zoom lens.

I'm a student on a fairly tight budget, so I can't really afford to look into the dSLR market now; and even if I could, I'm nostalgic about the 35mm films anyway.

So now I'm looking for a good film SLR body at around 200$, and I plan to buy a 50mm/1.4 or 1.8 lens for a little extra. However, I think I will get a digital camera in the future, and seeing the dominance of Nikon and Canon, I'm compelled to narrow my future choices to these two companies.

Any advice on which 35mm film SLR is considered to be excellent? Or are they all pretty much level in performance? Anything would be extremely helpful.

Also, if anyone has any advice on lenses or on how to repair the screw insert hole at the bottom of the camera, your advice would be very welcome!

Thanks!

pentax MX or LX are great cameras and you can find really good glass for them.
The body will run you 150-200 USD no days on E-bay.
You can find a pentax MX with a 1.7 50mm lens for about 175

$200.00 gives you a pretty good range of options. Nikon FE, Canon AE-1 etc. You will probably find one with a 50mm and something else for less than that.