Some Beginners Questions...

deathmullet

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hey guys first post.
just some quick and random questions i have for you.

firstly, since i am just starting off, i am just learning how to use the basic zones of my rebel xt. so when i go to transfer them onto my computer they are restricted to jpeg only. i want to be organized and keep the 1 original (either RAW or JPEG) and do some editing in photoshop. Once i am done my initial editing, what should i save the picture as? a tiff file would end up being roughly 20 MB and i am hesitant of JPEGs compression. so what format should i choose?

also, as far as emailing the pics and sharing, what image size should i re-size the photos as? any recommendations? i am assuming these shared files should be sent as JPEG copies of my edited files (re-sized however).

thanks! also is it reccomended that i stay in the basic zone until i get a feel for the camera and get the basics down? i only assumed this but want to make sure i am making the correct decision!

thanks!
Ross

why not just save it as psd, you can modify changes with ease later

Hey Ross... welcome to the Forum.

I'm not sure about the Canon XT questions but I can speak to the file type / size ones.

Generally I keep the file as it came out of the camera. If it's a keeper I'll convert it to a TIFF for editing and printing only and then I'll save that file in a RAW folder. If I want to email or post on the web... I'll convert it jpeg and make the width or height 500 pixels... depending on the orientation of the pic (landscape or portrait). That should knock it down to a size that's safe to email without clogging up everyone's Inbox.

Also if you're really going to post a lot to the web Photoshop will "Save For Web..." where it compresses it a bit heavier to keep the file sizes down.