Some C&C please! :)

dyliebug2

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
CSC_0309.jpg

DSC_0218.jpg

i am just learning and just want some pointers on taking better pictures of kids. thanks much!

Well in my opinion the expressions of both of these kids could use some work. Depends on what you are looking for in these shots, but each kid either looks confused or posed. The backgrounds are busy and distract from the photos. Thats just my opinion.

^+1. They look like typical snapshots. Try filling the frame more instead of the background clutter. Try shooting vertically.

i agree with the above.
take more time to compose. look at the surroundings, and try to keep it less distracting. as stated, these look like spur of the moment snapshots.
when shooting my son (7yo), i prefer to grab candids as opposed to posed. he tends to try too hard to make the biggest smile he can lol.
it's not film, so it won't cost a dime. shoot the heck out of 'em, and keep practicing composition and keeping in mind the area around your subject(s).

You have cute kids so that is a good start!
Your shots are pretty good snapshots.
Both pictures seem underexposed. Try moving them closer to the bright window or door I see behind your son. Put the window at your back so the kids are facing you with the light in their faces. You will be able to see their eyes brighter and it will be easier to expose the shot better.
As mentioned by those above
it will help to shoot where the background isn't as busy or cluttered but that can be hard when you are going for candid shots.
As for posing, I know how tough it can be to get kids to cooperate so you have my sympathy there.
Also if you shoot from below someone's face make sure they are looking down so you don't shoot up their nose.
You have a good start, there is much to learn.
Here is a book many people on the forum have read and recommend that is a big help.