Some findings after last nights gig..

killcrazy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.k-cphotography.co.uk
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Last night i was at a gig, and as usual had my camera and decided to take some shots.

Firstly, im using a sony alpha 100, and have the sony 18mm-70mm lens.
a vivitar 28mm-200mm, and a sony 75mm-300mm lens.

I started using the 18mm-70mm lens, which has an f rating of 3.5/5.6
I assumed (im still quite new at all this) that I could, when in manual mode use this lens, at any focal length at f3.5? Is this true??
Becasue last night, i used it and when the lens was set to its widest length (18mm) it would take one photo at f3.5, then it would jump up to f4.5. which meant i had to alter the settings after each photo.
Then as soon as i zoomed in to anything greater than 18mm, it jumped up to f5.6
at the gig i was at last night, it was basically running off four tiny stage lights, with coloured filters over them. with a black curtain all round the stage, and all the band members wearing black. so as you can imagine. There wasnt much light available. I know my lens' arent the greatest for this kind of shooting. but i thought thatif a lens had a rating of f3.5, it could be used at that at any focal length? am i wrong, or have i broke my lens/camera? :confused:

I also decided that i was going to shoot RAW, Usally, the lighting conditions have been better than in that horrible venue i was in last night (ie it wasnt pitch black with no lights lol) and im usually pretty comftable with using manual mode on my camera, and i get some decent results. And im quite good with photoshop so i can adjust the odd picture here and there. Also, i like using continuous shooting when imshooting paintball photography, so i normally shoot in JPEG. cos its write time is slignificantly less than RAW.
But last night, cos i was already pretty hacked off at the fact mycamera wasnt doing what i told it to do, i decided to give RAW a try.