Some impromptu night shooting C&C

timfrommass

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I didn't have any thoughts of doing some serious photography, but I found myself in Boston on the roof of a parking structure the other day and had my camera with me. I know some of these are a bit noisy but I had no tripod and had to up the ISO. However, this was my first opportunity ever to look at a city scape or do some shooting in the city, so as a newb I always want to try so I can be more prepared for what I'll need and what the conditions are like when I want to go back in just for the purpose of shooting. Could I get some C&C on composition at least? Thanks!

4242736892_19b13d5d04_b.jpg

4242745862_4496ac87c2_b.jpg

4242746630_99435319e7_b.jpg

-tim

No advice or feedback on the angles chosen, or the position of certain buildings in the shot on the first one? Each one has been cropped a bit, do you think there seems like anything is missing?

I like #1 a lot. It has enough going on to keep my attention but it's not too busy.

I think it's a bit unlevel, but that should be easily corrected.

Horizon is low on the right side of the first one.

Is the horizon low or is it that there are no buildings on that side, and there is on the right?

OK I'm still getting used to leveling things in post processing and how to guage it. I was messing around with it in photoshop and trying to level the bridge, then comparing that to what happened to the tilt of the buildings. I don't believe that there is a "level" point for the bridge. This is Boston and most stuff is old and crooked haha, but I can't seem to level out that bridge or even find a stretch of flat spot that makes the buildings still look upright. Maybe I'm just not doing it right though

-tim

There are some perspective correction tools that could be applied as well.
In pic #1 I think a simple leveling would have made it really good.