Some lens advice for my Nikon D200 please..

D Ryan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Lens advice for my Nikon D200
Hi - I am just starting out as a child portrait photographer and have alot to learn - and some gear to aquire. I would really love some advice about which lens to purchase.

I will be shooting in studio and on location at the local park. Style wise, I only really like a selective focus - a shallower depth of field and therefore try and shoot wide open as much as possible - the only problem being - I mostly shoot fast moving and erratic subjects (toddlers). Therefore I usually have heaps of reject images based on fuzziness.

I bought the 50mm 1.4 and have had much more success with focus as it is faster than my old glass, but I need something with a longer focal length. I know the 85mm 1.8 is great but my 2 concerns are: feel like I need variable focal length for the park, and maybe 85mm isn't different enough from the 50mm in focal length.

My other two lenses are: AF 24-85mm 2.8-4 (seems very slow to focus on a moving subject - rubbish compared to my 50mm). THE OTHER IS 4-5.6mm AF 70-210. Very old and seems slow but just found it and haven't really used it alot.

I am only interested in Nikon lenses. Money isn't an issue - I just want the right lens. Love the 70-200 2.8 but a bit concerned about weight.

What do you all think I should get?

Long posting I know.

Thanks

Donna
Attached Images
attachment.php

70-200 2.8 VR and a mono pod.

That, is a recipe for success

VR won't help with fast moving subjects so if your budget doesn't allow for that one (it's expensive!) consider the 80-200 2.8.

Am I right though in assuming that the 70-200 would focus alot faster than the 80-200 D?

The main problem I have with my old two are how slow they focus so this is where I would love to see a major improvement.

Thanks for helping me out here, guys.