Some tips on taking pictures of a storm?

AllenM

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Heya, first post for me. :D

I live in northern Illinois, just a couple of minutes ago I was trying to take some shots for the severe storm passing over us. I couldnt really snap a good one off for the life of me. I'm very new to photography, this is my first step into it and I just got my Lumix DMC-FZ30 earlier in the week.

I still haven't really learned how to utilize the other settings like manual exposure, program ae, shutter priority, aperture priority etc. I was also working on the fly to because it was comming quick and leaving quick. At first I attempted to record it with movie mode but I couldnt see anything, it was pretty much comming through white. I thought maybe white balance had something to do with it and I went through all the options and it didnt change much.

Anyway, that failed and I was rushing to take some shots so I used auto. I wasted the good part of the storm trying to get the video to work, I'm kinda upset cause my shots only got the weaker side.

Anywho, I want to learn how to match the sky with the ground for next time. I was trying to take shots where the top half was the sky, and the bottom half was the ground. Typically when I pointed the camera at the sky, the picture adjusted, and when I pointed it at the ground, it adjusted. Pointing the camera closer to the ground made the picture seem alot lighter outside then it really was. Taking a picture of the sky made it seem alittle more like how it was, perhaps a bit darker, but then I couldnt get any rain or the splashes or the wind in the shot. Taking a picture straight forward adopts the ground adjustment and then you can't even see the clouds in the sky, it just looks lightly grayed over (which it definetly was not). Can someone toss me a quick how-to on manually adjusting the picture so I can get both of what I want into the shot (so the picture looks how my eyes see it).