Somewhat New to DSLR, but Need Things Explained In Simple Terms!

MacMuttonchops

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all,

I'm looking for books to help me enhance my DSLR skills. I've been with it for about a year now (I have since gotten off auto mode...yay), but I'd like to further my knowledge. Honestly, the most advanced thing that I understand is that a low shutter speed number (I know nothing about this 1/250 thing...I see a 20 or a 2.5 on the D40) means the camera doesn't click as fast and lets more light in. And I'm pretty good with filters.

As you can tell I'm not very good with technical terms. So I need something that is well-written enough to explain these things to me using phrase like, "this is the thing that makes it do this and the photos will be this." And hopefully, it'll be able to teach me what exactly aperture is and how an f-stop works.

I've been going by reviews on Amazon and Barnes & Noble, but that's really gotten me nowhere. So far, the closest I've got to a real decision is Bryan F. Peterson's books, specifically Understanding Digital Photography, Understanding Exposure, and Understanding Shutter Speed. I get discouraged every time I try to pick up Nikon's included manual and it uses all the technical terms that I end up pressing a bunch of buttons to see what will happen.

So, do my seasoned photographers feel as if these would be not good enough, just right, or too advanced for someone at my skill level? Do you have any other recommendations? I've looked at the For Dummies guides and they are a bit too basic for me and teach me nothing that I didn't know before. Like I said, I've been with this for roughly a year now. I just want a book to tell more than how to frame a photo.

Thanks a million!

-Matt