Sony NEX-7?

probskN

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm pretty new to Photography. Well, at least I'm starting to get into it a little more now. Anyways, I'm thinking of buying myself a camera. I used a Sony NEX (I forgot exactly what model it was when I used it) that my friend had and I really liked it. Generally I take pictures with my iPhone and post them to Instagram, but I want to take this a little further. I've used a Canon Rebel T2i that my step dad owns and it's a great camera but I like the compact and professional feel of the Sony NEX-7. Can anyone recommend a good first camera for me? I'd really appreciate any insight from anyone who owns the camera or has used it before.

I have owned the NEX7 for about 2 years now. I really really love the camera. However, recently I found the auto focus was lacking for the sports picture of my kiddos. If we take moving subjects out of the mix, the nex (IMHO) performs phenomenally. I was very happy with it for a long time. The new a6000 has better autofocus than the nex7, and is cheaper. If I were to go with a nex camera right now, I would go for that one.
What I love:
Focus peaking. Absolutely awesome! Especially for macro work.
100 % magnification for focus accuracy.
instant exposure feedback.
Size: No excuse not to have my camera with me.
Image quality is stunning.

However, it DOES have many faults. I shrugged them off for years, but now I really understand where the complaints are coming from.

Focus is lacking for ANY moving subject. Pets, sports, wildlife. You simply wont be able to catch them.

There is no infinity focus on any of the native lens's (that I have, pretty sure its all of them)