Soon to be newbie DSLR user

rottie98

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everybody,
I just signed up the other day, looking at alot of photos and info on this site. Very impressive. I have been using a point and shoot camera for about 5 years and I have been looking at getting a nikon d5000.
I have a few questions that I am a little confused on. I looked around on this site and nikons site but couldnt find anything.
My question is on the lenses. I was looking to get the 18-55 mm and later down the road maybe the 55 - 200. when looking at these lenses I noticed that some of the letters are AF and AF-S , I think what that means is the AF-S has a auto focus motor in the lense itself so if that is correct what does AF mean?
What is the difference between DX and FX format?
Basically all I want is the d5000 with the VR and auto focus, could somebody shed some light on this. The reason I am so concerned about this I saw a review on this lense on amazon. here is the review.

stars-1-0._V192241078_.gif
AF...what AF?, December 23, 2009
This review is from: Nikon D5000 12.3 MP DX Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR Lens and 2.7-inch Vari-angle LCD (Electronics)
So you want AF to actually work? Well then you're gonna have to pony up the extra dough for the "AF-S" lenses because it won't work with "AF" models. The extra cost associated with the "AF-S" lenses along with the much more limited offering make this camera a bust. If you insist on sticking with Nikon then pony up the extra several hundred for the D90. Otherwise I would say go with the Canon EOS Rebel T1i. It costs a bit more than the D5000, but you'll more than make the money back on lenses.

Hello everybody,
I just signed up the other day, looking at alot of photos and info on this site. Very impressive. I have been using a point and shoot camera for about 5 years and I have been looking at getting a nikon d5000.