Sorry not again

studentnurse

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi

What camera should I get?

Let me explain.

I am a complete beginner and looking for a camera. I have got a course in London I am going to in September and one more locally as well. For the courses they have cameras that I can buy that have what is needed for the course.

Anyway I am looking at the Canon EOS 1100D

So is it any good or can you recommend anything better?

Thanks

What's your price point? What cameras are they offering for the course?

I do not have a massive camera budget. However the ones that they say that work for the course are:

You must have a Digital SLR Camera (DSLR) or a Pro-Compact camera with FULLY MANUAL EXPOSURE MODE “being able to control ISO, Shutter Speeds and Apertures manually”.

Examples:

DSLR cameras:
Canon: 700D, 600D, 1100D, 60D, 5D Mark I/II/III, 7D, 1D.
Nikon: D7000/7100, D3100, D5100, D90, D300S, D700, D800.
Sony: a900, a77, a55, a35.
Olympus: E-5
Pentax K-5 and Kr

Leica DSLR and Pro-Compact Cameras: M8, M9, V-Lux and D-Lux

Pro-Compact Cameras:
Canon Powershot G12, G11
Nikon: 1V1 and 1J1
Panasonic DMC cameras (With MANUAL EXPOSURE MODE)
Olympus PEN cameras

What is your budget? What do you want to get out of the camera?

The prices in that list range from several hundred to several thousand dollars.

If you want to keep this as a light hobby, I'd suggest a compact camera such as a Canon G12 or better. They have the features you will want, while still being portable and easy to use. Some have a hot shoe for a flash and can take pictures in RAW (which is great for editing).

If you want to get serious, then I'd suggest a DSLR or mirrorless. Any of the Canon/Nikon/Sony cameras should get you there. Go to a store and hold them. Go through their menus. Pick the one that works for you.

As Waday is asking, depends on your feeling.