Special purpose low-light camera?

rdompor

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
It is my understanding that the effective ISO range of a digital sensor is based around the base ISO. Canon has set their base ISO to 100 and can increase sensitivity by 5 or 6 stops to 1600/3200 while Nikon has set their base ISO to 200 and can increase sensitivity by 4/5 stops to 1600/3200.

My question is, can either Canon or Nikon create a special version of their cameras better suited for low light usage? If the base ISO is set somewhere around 400, then they could effectively create a sensor sensitive up to 5 stops at ISO 12,800 with the IQ of an ISO 1600 image from one of the "normal" cameras.

Forgive me if I've been mislead, I'm still in my 2nd year of engineering.:blushing:

Haha. Okay, maybe I wasn't very ambitious in my original post.

What if they make the base ISO something ridiculous like ISO 12,800 and allow it sensitivity 5 stops more than that? Or has this been done as well?

Yes, it's called a full frame 35mm sensor ("FX" in Nikonese), which is very expensive to make but has less noise because of the manufacturing process and lower pixel density.

That, or film, which will give you noiseless long exposures.

Yes, it's called a full frame 35mm sensor ("FX" in Nikonese), which is very expensive to make but has less noise because of the manufacturing process and lower pixel density.

That, or film, which will give you noiseless long exposures.

No offense, but did you even read my post? I'm talking about setting the base ISO to a higher rating, not just increasing noise performance through technological advancements or whatever.