Speed lights & Batteries...

rechargeable ones that are rated at at least 1900 mAh.

I've been using Eneloop rechargeable batteries for about 2 years now. They've been good to me with only 2 died out of 60. I lost about 6 but that was operator's error. lol

I use a combination of:

1) A GOOD quality charging unit. Those cheap ones that come with the batteries in most stores that charge in an hour or so harm the batteries and only diminish their lifespan.
What you want is a good unit that charges slowly over a long period of time which will improve the lifespan of the battery. You also want one that charges each cell and cuts off the power too once charged (cheap ones oft just charge in a block and will many times just keep pumping in and taking out power so if you leave them in too long you've again damaged the batteries lifespan)
I'd recommend an 8 cell charging unit from Powerrex/Maha. They also do a good 4 cell unit, but whilst its got some very advance features only 4 cells is impractical.
This will cost, but in the long run it means your batteries will last longer and you won't end up dropping money on replacements as fast (I've had it in the past before I took up this system, where I'd end up buying new batteries whilst out and around because my old ones gave out too fast).

2) Batteries with memory. The kind that you can charge and will keep their charge for a long period of time. These are sold by most companies now, but Eneloop did them first. You always know them because they are sold pre-charged. They basically not only hold their charge for a long time, but do so even if left within the unit. Other kinds will drain down so those fully charged batteries at the start of the weak are weak by the end even if you never used them.
The memory ones will have pretty much all their charge left - even after year something like 80% remains.