Speedlight vs. Monolight and Light Modifiers

curly

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all,

I am new to the topic of off-camera flash. I currently own a Neewer VK750 II i-TTL speedlight with my Nikon D7000. I am wanting to learn how to do off-camera flash and be able to modify the light properly.

My question is, what are the differences of using a speedlight vs. a monolight, other than overall output? Is one better for simple portraiture of 1 or 2 subjects? Does it depend more on the location (indoors, outdoors) as to which one to use?

I had my eye on the Flashpoint 320m to add to my collection next, but would like to learn to use my current lighting gear in some portrait situations.

Obviously, the speedlight might be more convenient for me to use outdoors without the need to buy a power pack. With my speedlight, which light modifiers would you recommend for portrait photography, both indoors and outdoors? Should I get a softbox, umbrella, both, or something that could serve a dual purpose? Other options?

On top of my head, the differences are mainly power output, recycle time, sync speed, TTL oh and weight. I have the Flashpoint Rovelight 600ws that has an internal battery and will support HSS but no TTL. It's basically a really heavy manual speed light :D

As James mentioned, the main difference is in terms of light output, recycle time, etc. Other differences are: Most monolights don't support TTL (Unless you spend a LOT of $$), but they do support a wide range of modifiers and light-shaping devices. Speedlights also lack modeling lights which can be beneficial, especially when first starting out, for planning your lighting.

You can do some great speedlight portraits indoors, or in shade, but most speedlights lack the power to knock down full sun. As for modifiers, start with the basics: Two ~30" convertible umbrellas.