sponsors?

ReptileLover

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hey. im new to the photography media. do photographers get sponsors like in other hobbies? if so, how what would getting a sponsor mean/ do? thanks :D

Photographers do not have sponsors. They either buy their own gears, rent them, or get to use them through their company (if they are photo journalists).

What??? You mean all this time I have been trying to strive to be on the USA photography team and now I have to sponsor myself...What next? You going to tell me there is no USA Photography team?? lol

What??? You mean all this time I have been trying to strive to be on the USA photography team and now I have to sponsor myself...What next? You going to tell me there is no USA Photography team?? lol

Sorry to burst your bubbles :lol:

Sure, photographer have sponsors like Canon, Nikon, Pentax etc.

How you would go about getting sponsored?
Well, you'd probably have to be a very successful photographer for a couple decades, but not only successful, popular & well known as well. If for example, you were a 'house-hold name', it might be in Canon's best interest to have people know that you shoot with Canon, so they might consider giving you free gear.

Did you mean mentor. I cant figure out what you meant by sponsor, I keep heading back to the 12 step program.

Maybe if one gets enough bad CC on here they will need a sponsor. Some may just drown their sorrows.

Sure, photographer have sponsors like Canon, Nikon, Pentax etc.

How you would go about getting sponsored?
Well, you'd probably have to be a very successful photographer for a couple decades, but not only successful, popular & well known as well. If for example, you were a 'house-hold name', it might be in Canon's best interest to have people know that you shoot with Canon, so they might consider giving you free gear.