Sports photography lens

truetifoso

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm a newbie so please excuse any ridiculously silly questions in advance. I just bought an SLT A-77 with a Tamron SP 70-300mm f/4-5.6. Ninety-nine percent of what I shoot is sports photography and mainly one of my sons playing tennis both day and night. Unfortunately, while I love the fact that it shoots 12fps, I get one or two pics out of 150 that is clear. Any suggestions. If it's a new lens I'd like to stay around $1,500 if I can.

Do you use a tripod ?
What is your shutter speed ?
What AF settings are you using ?
What's not clear in your pictures ? Camera shake ? Player moving to fast ? Out of focus ?

f4-5.6 might simply not be fast enough.

I don't know if I'm answering your questions correctly, but I'll try my best. I don't use a tripod, but I don't think the blur is fom camera shake. The background is almost always in perfect focus but the tennis player is out of focus - most often his face. My son is nine. He's fast, but not that fast. :)In terms of the settings, I just move the dial to the 12fps setting. I see the numbers on top changing from 60 to 1000. Night shooting is one problem, but I'm more concerned about the player being consistently out of focus - day or night. Thank you for your advice.

Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 w/ OS... If they make it for the Sony mount.

Do you use a tripod ?
What is your shutter speed ?
What AF settings are you using ?
What's not clear in your pictures ? Camera shake ? Player moving to fast ? Out of focus ?

f4-5.6 might simply not be fast enough.

For tennis action, this question I find confusing.