Sports Photography

canonbraden

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm getting into sports photography, mostly baseball. I want to do it for a career. I just started out with the Canon T3, which I still have. Is the Canon 60D a good upgrade to a sports camera before I go for the 5D Mark 3? If not, what is?

I'm getting into sports photography, mostly baseball. I want to do it for a career. I just started out with the Canon T3, which I still have. Is the Canon 60D a good upgrade to a sports camera before I go for the 5D Mark 3? If not, what is?
How about you share some of your work first?

A $5k camera won't necessarily give you better pictures.

My sports set is 2x 1Dmk2's, 300mmF2.8L, 70-200F4L, 200F2.8L, 24-70F2.8L, 50F1.4, 2x and 1.4x extenders 580EX flash

however, a $5,000 lens will help your pictures.

Yeah, Nikon used to have a fantastic tagline that went something like "Nikon. One professional standard every photographer can achieve."

Let me preface by saying I am no pro, nor do I want to make money at this. I am a novice / hobbiest. A self proclaimed dork. The technology and science Behind photography interest me as much, if not more, than the art. From that standing take my viewpoint with a grain of salt:

starting out with your T3i will give you the right challenge level to learn how everything works, but in order to advance to a career level you will need to advance with gear more suited a professional. Something to access and make changes to aspects of your camera quickly, preferably with only your thumb, not needing to delv into a menu.