Standard lenses vs. Canon L-series

lacla

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

This is my first post here. I signed up in hope someone here might be able to help me. I use a Canon 40D that I'm immensely happy with. I use standard Canon and Sigma lenses. I have long wondered how much better a Canon L-series lens is in terms of image quality. Are they marginely better or a lot better? In order to find out, I have searched here and there for a side-by-side image comparison of a standard lens vs. an L-series at equal aperture and focal length. I haven't found such a comparison, so it is my hope that someone here might know if such a comparison exists somewhere? Thanks.

//lacla

L stands for expensive
or
L stands for weather proof
or
L stands for quality

Just some of the reasons why L series are better! I'm not a canon expert so don't know sorry bud!

Like everything it depends on what you are looking at. In general L glass is superior in design details, materials, & construction. This includes the glass that is used and the quality of the shaping, polishing and coatings. All of which leads to better image quality.

which means better resale appeal and value too.

Call a couple of places and ask them how many €€€'s they will give you for your Sigma lenses, compared to what you paid for them.

Then call them a couple of days later pretending you have an equivelent Canon L lens to sell.

L stands for expensive
or
or
L stands for quality

Just some of the reasons why L series are better! I'm not a canon expert so don't know sorry bud!

Not all L's are weather sealed

Last edited:
L stands for expensive
or
or
L stands for quality

Not all L's are wearther sealed

Oh my bad was at a shop yesterday and the ones I had a sneaky peak at had sealing band round the lens mount. Seriously expensive, but much more than Nikkor....

Last edited: