Starting a new photography business

nkmaurer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score

Hello, I am a college student getting ready to graduate in May and I am seriously thinking about starting a photography business afterwards. I worked for a photographer for 2 summers and have done several side jobs during school. I have been able to save up to buy my camera, a few lenses, backdrops, lighting, and a few props. I live in a small town outside of a city, and even though there are several photographers, wedding photographers are limited. I have photographed a few weddings and have also received calls from people that I had to turn down because I am away at school. I currently have all my equipment in the basement of my home so when I graduate I would plan to run my business there for a year or two until I am able to move out. I am fortunate through scholarships to not graduate with a lot of debt.

I am looking for advice from those who have been through starting their own business. I have been reading resources online about starting a business and plan on hiring an accountant. I would just like to hear any advice, suggestions, regrets, problems you faced, what you wish you knew, what you would do differently if you could start over, and what is realistic to expect during my first few months (summer), year, and on.

I would appreciate any help and opinions that you have to give!

Thanks in advance!

Noelle

Welcome to the forum.

I'm just in the process of starting my own photo business, so I'm practically in the same boat as you.

For weddings especially, I think it's important to have a good deal of experience before becoming the primary photographer. I see that you have worked for a photographer...that's great.

Also, for weddings, backup is extremely important. You can't make excuses because your camera or flash/lens stops working at a critical moment. You need to be able to get the job done. Weddings are (or should be) a once in a lifetime event.