Steps when taking pictures

Sirene

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
What is your order when taking a picture ? Kind of what is your workflow on the field ?

Composition
White balance
Metering
Focus
Aperture
Shutter speed
Iso
etc...

What is or are your specific order when taking one or more pictures ?

Thanks for your input !

I'm a newbie but for me it varies every time I think, especially on different subjects. Since I am new to this and don't have anything in particular I photograph, most of my shots come from my noon hour photo walks and driving around.

Typically I'll walk or drive until I find something of interest (or just something out of boredom, I need to exit that habit). Once I find something I'll walk around and try to find an angle that is most appealing if I can, wildlife doesn't always offer this luxury.

Next I'll compose and move around more if I have to, but more often than not I'll have a zoom lens on. Once I feel the shot is what I pictured I focus and lock exposure, set my aperture (or shutter speed) accordingly and fire away. My ISO is almost always at the 200 base level if I can help it.

I have a lot to learn though and look forward to reading the responses here.

I've asked this question myself, [PM.ed] but didn't get a response.Hope you get an answer! are there any analytical photogs out there??

I always start with composition, I like to think of a good picture as something you piece together. If the composition strikes me as interesting, that's the first sign that allows me to decide I'm taking a picture of it. I usually then decide on the best angle and point of focus, from there I adjust the aperture and shutter speed accordingly. I usually set my ISO before I go out to shoot, say if I'm shooting in broad daylight I'll use 100-200, etc..