Stock photo analysis

Discussion in 'General Shop Talk' started by Greatwhite, Dec 12, 2007.

1. Greatwhite

Greatwhite TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
  2. wildmaven

wildmaven TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Since I work in the nuclear field, I've been wondering about producing a set of photos based upon that subject. But if I sold one for $1, how much does a place like iStock take off of that? I suspected this kind of trend would occur with more and more people getting high quality cameras. :p Professional photographers are being undercut by moms with a camera, walmart, and now the internet. Maybe I should keep my day job...

3. Nimitz

Nimitz TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    The on-line stock company I have some of my work with pays the photographer 20% of the sale price. They offer the images in low, med & high res (usually with unrestricted rights), prices start at around $79 for the low res ...

4. D-50

D-50 TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I strongly urge photographers to boycott istockphoto. the site charges $1 usd per photo, of that the person who took it gets literally cents. A client of mine uses this site for their stock photos. Before I found out they were using them I suggested I take the stock photos for them at a reduced price from my regualr rate because they were giving me a decent amount fo work at my regular rate. I was then told they pay $1 per photo and realized I can not compete with that. Its ridiculous and should not be supported by people with any amount of talent.

5. dipstick

dipstick TPF Noob!

To ask a professional photographer to do stockshots for a buck, is like asking a gourmet chef to flip burgers at McDonalds.