Storage or workflow ideas?

jaomul

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Not sure if this is correct section but suppose storage for processing is related so here goes=

I just got a new laptop. I am not as organised as I should be with my photos. I am not a pro, just enthusiast but would like to have a good system so I know where everything is.

I think i should put raws in a raw folder, jpegs in a jpeg folder and edits in an edited folder, backing up raws on a portable hard drive, but raws may fill my computer fairly fast.

What do you guys do? I'd like to have a better system of organising. Thanks

DEFINITELY, move the raw files OFF of the local hard disk after processing of them has been done...they are huge, and they really are unwieldy.

DEFINITELY, move the raw files OFF of the local hard disk after processing of them has been done...they are huge, and they really are unwieldy.
I will do. Whats your general way of doing this type of thing?

I will do. Whats your general way of doing this type of thing?

I never store them on the internal drive to begin with. I always ingest images to an external drive to start with.

I keep the downloads in folders, by year. For example, here is an actual download archive. The color-coded labels are a Mac OS thing, which allows me to search for stuff by qualitative character, like, "Has this been backed up to a second drive???" and so on.

Screen shot 2014-10-25 at 11.21.48 AM.png
I prefer to keep the different types of images (RAWS, in-camera-created JPG files, and Lightroom export JPG files) in the SAME folder/directory, so I can keep track of what has been done to what.
Screen shot 2014-10-25 at 11.23.53 AM.png