Storing Long Term Chemicals

photoman

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi ive been reading on the storage lives of chemicals and found that they would last the longest if they are stored full in a container so that they wouldnt oxidize. Ive been using some of the blatters you would find in box wine (as you use them they still remain full because they dont let air in). I have been using them for about 3 months now with no problem for long storage of chemicals like dektol and D-76.

My question is would there be a problem in the wine that was previously in them affecting the chemical working ability or storage life?

I would also like to know what everyone else does about storing their chemicals (anybody else have some neat way of storing them :D ).

Any advice would be helpful

I would worry about the wine, unless you are sure they are completely washed out.

You can buy several different kinds of collapsing containers for chemical storage. The best way to store chems for long periods is in powder form. With a small scale you could mix to use, instead of mixing up the entire package.

Another trick I've heard of is to pour glass marbles into the containers as they are emptied.

When information for shelf life of a chemical is being given, is it under the assumption that the chemicals are simply being stored in a plastic container? I've just been using (I think they're a gallon) jugs that I had left over from school.

I think that the assumption is that they are being stored in an airtight container with a minimum of air chemical contact.

Film developer: no way to know if it's gone bad until it wrecks your film, so don't take chances here. Always use fresh chems if possible. Develop lot's of film at once to completely use up film developer.

Print developer: weak paper dev will keep you from getting solid blacks. I keep using paper dev until this shows up, as I only lose an easy replacable work print, and I get the most for my money out of the chems.