Street Photography Moody Lighting

jomvr

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to photography but I've always been an avid viewer of fashion and street art. I recently picked up a Nikon D60 and a 1.8f 50mm lens from my friend and I've been walking around the city just shooting and trying to strengthen my fundamentals (composition, lighting etc.).

I haven't really used anything to edit my photos except VSCO and I'm in the midst of getting light room. I was just wondering what kind of editing or lighting do these photographers use to create this moody city style and does this type of style have a specific name? I'll post some the IG examples below, thanks!

Instagram
Instagram

Why not sending an email to Jayscale and ask him what post production/filters is he using if any? He seems to be quite open. He may not provide you with all the details but at least give you some idea. Many of his images look desaturated, he may have his own colour scheme presets and batch-processes his images for a consistent look. Or he may be using some plugins. It does look cool and urban, but there are different ways to achieve this look.

As for the moody lighting, it starts with actual lighting of the scene, you need to learn to see the natural light which is not easy. If the lighting is bad during the shooting, improving it in post production/editing is impossible/not worth the effort in most cases.

You may read Chasing the Light by Ibarionex Perello. This is not about this particular style, but will give you a lot of ideas about the fundamentals of using the natural light in urban photography.

Wow! Thank you so much for the reply, I will definitely shoot him an e-mail and check out that book.

This maybe a question for a different topic but do you or anyone else recommend any good books on urban/street photography?

Wow! Thank you so much for the reply, I will definitely shoot him an e-mail and check out that book.