Student trying for a MA in Photojournalism, help appreciated!

circlekay

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey guys! I'm new to the site, and I was wondering if there's any insight or advice out there for an aspiring student applying to UAL for an MA in Photojournalism. They want a portfolio of 5-6 projects - how should I format and organise it? I'm currently a double-law undergrad so applying to art school is a whole new thing for me...any help would be much appreciated!

P.S. I started my own exposure.co blog and I'm hoping to slowly build up a subscriber base. Do you think that helps me in terms of pursuing a career in photography?

What country is UAL in and/or what does UAL stand for?

Careers in photography have been disappearing in big bunches in recent years.
Plan on being a freelance photographer and be sure you have a good handle on how to start and maintain your photography business, particularly marketing.

From 2013:
Chicago Sun-Times lays off all photographers

. . . we have had to restructure the way we manage multimedia, including photography, across the network." . . .
Another example: National Geographic hasn't had staff photographers for quite some time now.
How can I be a photographer for National Geographic?
We are often asked by aspiring photojournalists for advice about entering this highly competitive field.