Studio Photography

leokho

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
First of all I'll start by introducing myself...
I started out with photography a few years ago, since then I have taken many pictures, but most of them are macro's, nature, architectural, etc..
So basically I have never worked in a studio before. A friend of mine asked me to do a few shots for her boyfriend (as a one year anniversary gift).

Now I have never done studio shots (OK, let's start by saying that I don't even have one ^^''). I know that she would want me to take some sensual (but not nude) photo. I have some ideas... But when it comes to technical questions (lighting and stuff) I don't have a clue.. I have a few hundred bucks that I can spear (for also future use), but I wouldn't know what I was doing, if anyone can help I would appreciate it.

My idea was to create a backdrop with black tissue (to suspend it I would use PVC tubes, since I can do as much anything I want with it.. So I was thinking of creating a structure which would hold it). But how about lightning ?

Also any further ideas are much welcome! :)

Also, she's thinking about a print of something about A3 size, what would be the best resolution? I use a Fuji S7000, so max is 6MP (it take 12, but it's interpoled -.-').

I see nobody has picked up the thread to answer your questions. I think the reason is that they are pretty hard to answer as you state them. Let me start with the resolution question. Use the highest resolution the camera can produce. It is as simple as that. You can reduce the resolution later if that is what you want to do but you can't have resolution that wasn't there in the first place.