Studio Portraits with minimal lights

beany75

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi, this is my first time on here, so hope someone can help.

I am just starting out with portrait photography of babies and children plus the occasional mum with baby - and did a whole family last week too - but in there home.

I'm needing advice on lighting and camera settings.

I set up a basic white back drop in my kitchen area and then place a bean bag with white sheet over it for the baby to lie on. Older kids might sit on a stool or chair.

I'm using a Canon EOS, 400D. Usually using an 18-55mm lens. Occasionally a telephoto lens.

1. Lighting - how can i improve results with what i've got?
I have 2 tungsten lights which I place at each side, front. There is natural light coming in too, but not very direct.
I do a custom white balance, which generally improves the lighting, but sometimes sends it out of whack.
i don't use flash as i only have a built in one and this never provides nice results for me - unless someone can suggest a way to use it.

2. So based on above, interested in whether you'd suggest aperture priority, fully manual, etc.

3. Also, if it's not a studio set up, then tips and advice on taking photos in peoples homes. looking for that lovely deep, rich colour.

My website gallery page thus far is firstart gallery

Although I love doing photography, i'm feeling like it's a bit hit and miss at the moment, so appreciate any help!
thanks

Hi and welcome.

I would suggest getting some white rip-stop nylon to shine your hot lights through. Say a couple of 4 foot square frames (PVC works well).

Diffusion is a good thing. :)

http://www.software-cinema.com/page/13/tinkertubes Download the pdf booklet at the bottom of the page. It's free

Last edited: