Study of a Soldier and His Country

Discussion in 'People Photography' started by decaphotography, May 19, 2009.

1. decaphotography

decaphotography TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I had my nephew, who is an air force reservist come into the studio for a study that I had been wanting to do for quite a while.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. ottor

ottor No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    Technically, I think you nailed it..... As an old Vet, I'm not sure about 1 & 3.. As a parent, #2 is beautiful... (Did he get a promotion between the two pictures?)

3. farmerj

farmerj TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Retired Army Guard.

I think I would have used something other than a Rosary in #1. I am guessing you were going for God and Country. Possibly a bible instead. Simply brown cover with "Holy Bible" on it. As a Catholic, I recognize the Rosary. Not sure others would.

#2 - Nice. Having deployed, it's powerful

#3, you should drape the flag over his leg. Would be interesting. Not the sharp angles to the eye from kneeling or the flag just dropping to the ground. Almost like he is truly embracing it then. Flag should never touch the ground. Just proper respect and courtesy.

4. newrmdmike

newrmdmike TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    i understnad what your going for, but i too have strong feelings towards my flag and seeing it in that condition.

5. decaphotography

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Ottor, he did not get a promotion as we did in a three hour session. I asked him to bring his dress blues and a set of BDU's. He may have chosen one that wasn't up to date?

farmerj, I hadn't thought about draping it over his knee. Wish I had tried that. It would certainly have softened the image. A bible would have appealed to a much larger portion of the people.