Subject dist=66 ???

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by cumi, Oct 12, 2005.

  1. cumi

    cumi TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi!

    I have a Canon Powershot A520. When I browsing my photos on PC I see quite often that the Subject distance is 66m, althought I made the photo in a room and the photos are IN FOCUS (sharp). I can upload some examples, when needed.

    Is this because the camera couldn't set the focus or didn't find any subject to focus on?

    Or can it be that this heappens, when I press the shutter halfways (to set the focus and light) and then recompose and press it all the way. Actually I am sure, that this can not be the only reason, because I can remember what did I do exaclty on some photos.

    Thanks for help,
    cumi
     
  2. Rob

    Rob TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    London
    Hi cumi,

    I would suspect that 66m or 100ft ish is your camera's lens infinity distance. If you are shooting at a high f-number then the camera can focus for a considerable range of distances. It is likely that a subject more than 10ft (3m ish) away from you could be within sharp focus even though the camera is focussed on "infinity".

    If the pictures are coming out fine, then there isn't much to worry about. Why not post some for us to have a look?

    Rob
     
  3. cumi

    cumi TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    These are with 66m subj. dist.(infinite):

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  4. cumi

    cumi TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    The first photo:

    File: IMG_0668.JPG
    File size: 747KB
    Image Serial Number: 106-0668
    Camera Model: Canon PowerShot A520
    Firmware: Firmware Version 1.00
    Date/Time: 2005:10:01 16:40:21
    Shutter speed: 1/60 sec
    Aperture: 3,2
    Exposure mode: Program
    Flash: Built-in + Red eye reduction
    Flash EF guide number: 9,00
    Metering mode: Spot
    Drive mode: Single frame shooting
    ISO: Auto
    Lens: 5,8 to 23,2mm
    Focal length: 9,8mm
    Subject distance: 66 m
    AF mode: Single AF
    Image size: 2272 x 1704
    Rotation: none
    Image quality: Fine
    White balance: Auto
    Picture Effect: Normal

    The second:

    File: IMG_0673.JPG
    File size: 802KB
    Image Serial Number: 106-0673
    Camera Model: Canon PowerShot A520
    Firmware: Firmware Version 1.00
    Date/Time: 2005:10:01 18:11:48
    Shutter speed: 1/60 sec
    Aperture: 2,6
    Exposure mode: Program
    Flash: Built-in + Red eye reduction
    Flash EF guide number: 7,06
    Metering mode: Spot
    Drive mode: Single frame shooting
    ISO: Auto
    Lens: 5,8 to 23,2mm
    Focal length: 5,8mm
    Subject distance: 66 m
    AF mode: Single AF
    Image size: 2272 x 1704
    Rotation: none
    Image quality: Fine
    White balance: Auto
    Picture Effect: Normal


    I had to compress the photos before uploading...
     
  5. Rob

    Rob TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    London
    Well from how it looks here, the focus is fairly soft on the top one and possibly a little soft on the bottom one.

    The bottom one is more revealing as it looks like your focus and metering point is that wall visible outside the window. Personally I'd say that that outside bit was what the camera latched on to and metered and focussed to.

    Your lens is pretty short, so it's going to give you quite a good DOF even at infinity. Can you try doing an AF lock on a centred object say five feet away during daylight and see if it still says 66m?

    I've just realised that 66m is over 200ft, not 100 as I said earlier! Not enough coffee ingested me thinks.

    Rob
     
  6. cumi

    cumi TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I allready tried this. Interresting thing is, that the manual says, that if the camera can not find a focus (a subject) the AF bracket will be yellow (signaling the problem and the possible consequences). Having a subject, that can not be focused, I have to use AF-lock. But this "infinite" subject distance appears even then sometimes. Can it be a Canon Firmware bug?

    BTW, on the second photo, I was metering the light (and probably used AF-lock) on my wife. I have another photo, where I did so with the wall behind, but then my wife and son are terribly overexponated, because of the flash... Here the wall behind is underexponated, but I had no other joice...
     
  7. Rob

    Rob TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    London
    Well I think you've probably answered your own question! It could be a firmware focussing bug, or equally it's possible that the bit which reports the focal distance just doesn't work properly (and the camera is fine otherwise).

    Unless anyone else has any bright ideas?

    Rob
     

Share This Page