Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Subversi0n_04_by_ashleysmithd.jpg

Nikon D40 18-55mm
ISO200

Taken for a friends band, Subversion.

Any critique appreciated!
thanks for looking.

The band is really underexposed on my screen. You need to find a way to light the band or spot meter for them.

I really like the photo, and I think the idea has a lot of potential. I will say that you cut off the frontman's sneaker a bit, which is somewhat distracting. But the idea is great! Also, more than it being dark, I think its the way its lit that's a problem. With the sunset in the background, I get kind of confused whether I'm supposed to look at them first, or the sunset first. But this is an opinion, not a critique. And seeings how I'm a beginner, I wouldn't take it very seriously. :)

Keep shooting, and keep posting!

hmm.. seems fine on the monitors i've seen it on, I was going for a darker effect anyway

All of their faces and bodies are way underexposed. You shot them with the sun behind them which naturally creates a silhouette but they way you exposed made it halfway between a silhouette and a correctly exposed image. Try fixing it in photoshop or something with levels and curves.

you should have used a strobe camera right, and balanced them with the background our a half stop over. imho

Crop tighter on the left side. Lighten up their faces in PS
The photo is a good group shot with those corrections:)

Ok cheers guys.

I've taken all the advice in, and what I've done is add half an EV to the overall image and then used the dodge tool to lighten the faces slightly. Should have given the face roughly 1 and a half EV more exposure.

Subversion_IV_by_ashleysmithd.jpg

Last edited:
It is still pretty dark. Here's my (very quick) edit of it.
adjusted the midtones through levels (was -2 off in exposure.. quite common if your shooting auto or an auto mode like AV where you can't tell your camera what to do)
made a curve to add lightness and contrast
sharpened