suggest please; macro lens options for canon rebel XS

Moodyville-ain

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I really like macro shots, obviously my kit lens isnt gonna cut it :(. So what are some good macro lens options? (approximate price is appreciated). Are there any inexpensive options? as I am a hobbyist, not a professional.

Canon is coming / has come out with a new L macro lens, the EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM. Should be about $1000.

While this may be out of your range, this will push down the price of their current 100mm macro, and maybe have more avaible used on Craigslist and such. The older macro (which is a damn fine lens) is the EF 100mm f/2.8 USM which should be around $600 new.

Cheaper options usually mean a shorter focal range.

EF-S 60mm f/2.8 is about $400. You will have to be closer to the subject that the 100mm, so it depends on what you want to do macros of. Objects, should not be an issue. If you are doing bugs, you will want something longer

Sigma has some decent macro lenses, such as the 105mm f/2.8 which is about $475.
Their 50mm f/2.8 macro is about $300.

Really though, the Canon glass is really nice. I would suggest looking for the 100mm f/2.8 used.

I really like macro shots, obviously my kit lens isnt gonna cut it :(. So what are some good macro lens options? (approximate price is appreciated). Are there any inexpensive options? as I am a hobbyist, not a professional.

Actually the lens you have should work just fine. You just need to get a Kenko Automatic Extension Tube Set DG. They're available on ebay for under $150. They're also available from bhphotovideo for $170.

You may soon discover that squinting through that little eyepiece is a real hassle whenever you attempt photographing low lying objects such as lichens sprouting from a fallen tree branch or mushrooms and toadstools. The best solution to that situation is to buy a camera with live view.