Suggested Settings

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by CNCO, Apr 10, 2010.

1. CNCO

CNCO TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I am going to shoot a school play and possibly a fashion show. I was told no flash during the play. Any tips on what my aperture and shutter speed should be?

Bear with me, I'm still learning.

2. Johnboy2978

Johnboy2978 No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    No flash means you're probably looking at a lot of noise. So, I would take my fastest lens, that is the one w/ the widest aperture (smallest number, f/1.4, 1/8, 2.8, etc) and probably a tripod. I would start w/ ISO 100 and the widest aperture to see what shutter speed you're looking at. You're probably going to need something around at least 1/125 to avoid motion blur. So you'll just have to keep upping the ISO until you get there. You'll probably be in the neighborhood of ISO 800 or 1600 and a good aperture to get to that point. Then you're going to need neat image or noise ninja to smooth out some of the noise.

3. KmH

KmH Helping photographers learn to fish Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    f/22 for the aperture and 1/3000 of a second on the shutter. You'll get very consistant images. All black. ;)

Without knowing how much light there will be no one can tell you what settings to use.

You'll need to use the light meter in the camera viewfinder and adjust accordingly.

What is the speed of the lens you will be using? That will determine how high you'll need to set the ISO to.

4. Vinny

Vinny TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit