Suggestion on selecting a DSLR and Lens

ssjsushil

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all,

I'm new to photography and greatly enthusiastic to learn and explore more in this field. I'm looking to buy my first DSLR. With a little research, I came up with the below choice of equipment:

DSLR:
1) Nikon D5300 DSLR Camera
2) Nikon D5500 DSLR Camera

Lens:
1) AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR Lens
2) Tamron 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di-II Macro Lens

I would greatly appreciate if you can suggest me a good DSLR and a Lens to start up with.

Thanks.

I'd get the d5300 cos it's cheaper. Lens wise it's generally considered less zoom is better quality in similar priced ranges. I'd go 18-140 Nikon in this case. I may even try get d5300 with 18-105 kit lens if I could get it cheaper and put savings at a tripod and remote

I'd get the d5300 cos it's cheaper. Lens wise it's generally considered less zoom is better quality in similar priced ranges. I'd go 18-140 Nikon in this case. I may even try get d5300 with 18-105 kit lens if I could get it cheaper and put savings at a tripod and remote

Thanks for a great suggestion. I'm thinking to go with your recommendation. I really liked the pics on your Flickr account.
Thanks again :)

Thanks for a great suggestion. I'm thinking to go with your recommendation. I really liked the pics on your Flickr account.
Thanks again :)

One last thing to clarify.

When I compare the specs of both D5500 and D5300, I noticed the below difference in the ISO Sensitivity:

D5500:
ISO 100 - 25,600
D5300: ISO 100 - 12,800 Hi-1 (ISO 25,600)

Being new to photography, i'm having hard time in understanding if D5300 is lacking in terms of ISO. What does Hi-1 (ISO 25,600) mean?

Please pardon me if this sounds too basic.

Thanks again for helping me out. Greatly appreciate your suggestion!!