Suggestion with Pentax body?

baivab

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello,

After doing some research I found that used Pentax K-mount lens one can get for cheap and excellent quality. I don't have a problem with manual focus, but heard that some Pentax bodies actually show a Green LED in view-finder if focusing is correct! My biggest problem is controlling the exposure and thus the model I'm looking at should provide good exposure metering facilities that too with K-mount manual lens.

Thus, can anyone suggest a good Pentax body to support such K-mount lens along with the good features I mentioned?

Any help will be much appreciated. I am new to Photography and thus getting confused.

Regards,

Bob-A virgin photographer.

Let's forget the green light. Just thinking of which good Pentax body I should buy that which accepts also K-mount lens. Any known caveats when I use a Pentax body with a K-mount lens?

Most Pentax bodies built after 1970 or so use K-mount lenses. All of the auto-focus bodies will have the focus indicator light in the veiwfinder.

Well, i'm not real sure what your budget is, and I'm not incredibly familiar with Pentax's camera inbetween the K-series and the ZX series, but here's a great link for ya.

http://www.bdimitrov.de/kmp/bodies/index.html

If you're looking for something cheap, i'd go for an ME F or ME super (make sure ift has manual exposure.) The next tier up (i believe) is the ZX series. Out of this bunch, I'd recommend the ZX-M. It has all manual controls, and a pretty good auto exposure system. The zx-30 is also a good camera if you want one that will wind the film itself (the ZX-60 sucks, don't buy it).

If you're really looking for some good auto exposure modes, some of the cameras have several exposure modes, but they're pretty pricey.