Sunpak PZ42XC

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by jeljohns, Feb 26, 2009.

1. jeljohns

jeljohns TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Anyone have experience using this with Canon digital cameras? At $150 it is a better budget option than the Canon flash. Since I am just getting started I really can't justify spending that much on a flash right now.

2. Jaszek

Jaszek No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    well the 430EX you could find for 180-220

3. jeljohns

jeljohns TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I could probably swing $180, where have it seen it at that price? I've checked Amazon, Ebay, and B&H. They all list $230 and up.

4. Jaszek

Photos OK to edit
  5. Samanax

Samanax TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    This Sunpak PZ42X is compatible with Canon E-TTL EOS cameras. Not sure if it's the same thing as the PZ42XC.
    I really don't think they'll get any more in stock...the 430EX is out of production and has been replaced by the 430EX II.

6. Jaszek

Photos OK to edit
    yea true. O and sorry for not doing my research, didnt know the sunpack has e-ttl lol.

7. jeljohns

jeljohns TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I'm not sure what that means. What is the difference between e-TTL and just TTL?

What about the Canon 540 EZ? I found a used one of those for $80. I guess at this point I'm afraid to buy anything because I don't know enough about flash/my camera to know which ones would be compatible.

Do the canon flashes allow you to control them through the camera?

Last edited: Feb 27, 2009
  8. anglingag

anglingag TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I have a limited knowledge on flashes, but enough to get by. In no means I am an expert, so heres my "weigh in".