Now 100% DC - not as cool as I once was, but still
Reaction score
Website
www.henrypeach.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
crappiemotel0806.jpg

sumac0806a.jpg

The top image is HDR made from 4 exposures.

Nice HDR image matt, great reflection...... good job :thumbup:

Do you mind telling me which parts of it are at different exposures? I'm new to the technique of HDR and haven't tried it properly yet (only in my garden)..

Stunning shots :)

nitefly said:
Do you mind telling me which parts of it are at different exposures? I'm new to the technique of HDR and haven't tried it properly yet (only in my garden)..

You got me. :) I'm only playing around with it too. I normally go for 3 shots at -2, N, and +2, open them in CS2 as 16 bit TIFs (unmodified from RAW), and hit 'automate' -> "merge to HDR". Then after it does it's thing, I switch the mode to 16 bit, which opens up the 32 bit HDR file conversion box. I choose the last of the 4 conversion choices, adaptive something or other, and I tweak the curve until I like it.

With this shot I took 4 exposures at -3, -2, N, and +2. In the original exposures to get the sky color meant that the land and trees were pretty much black. The HDR conversion lowered the contrast immensely letting me have the texture and green in the land, and the colors in the sky.

EDIT: I just went back and looked at the normal exposure, and where the HDR really helped me out is in the upper right corner. In the N exposure it's pretty much white. For the rest of the image the HDR effects are fairly subtle compared to the super tweaked, local contrast enhancement HDR that are very popular all over the web right now. Getting that painting-like local contrast does look cool, but my main use for HDR is to compensate for not carrying a split neutral density filter, stained glass windows in churches, etc...

Sumac!
THAT is the name of this tree.
Now I remember!
Thanks for posting this pic (second here) and the NAME of the tree!