sync cable question

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by tr0gd0o0r, Mar 8, 2004.

  1. tr0gd0o0r

    tr0gd0o0r TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    We've got a studio up at my church for photos of new members and what not, but for some reason the guy who set it all up decided that a sync cable was not necessary. So while the soft look of camera shake at a shutter speed of 0.3" isn't so bad for portraits, i'm tired of it. (sorry about that rant) I'm looking into a sync cable. I have a *istD and i know the box for the lights is house. is this http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=productlist&A=details&Q=&sku=82692&is=REG
    the right thing or does the type of cable matter w/ specific boxes? Thanks for the help.
     
  2. surfingfireman

    surfingfireman TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Orillia/Horseshoe Valley, Canada
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I think you mean a shutter release cable or remote cable, right...
     
  3. tr0gd0o0r

    tr0gd0o0r TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    no, i need a flash sync cable. its gonna go from my camera to the box that controls my studio lights. A shutter release cable is a button that sets off the shutter w/out pushing the button to prevent camera shake.
     
  4. urameatball

    urameatball TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada... EH?
    Sometimes I use an infrared flash attached to my camera to activate my strobes. Or an onboard flash on your camera will activate them too.
     
  5. surfingfireman

    surfingfireman TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Orillia/Horseshoe Valley, Canada
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    sorry about that. as soon as I read "camera shake" I figured it was the remote cable you needed. but once I read it again, i figured out what you were referring to.

    C-YA

    Mike
     

Share This Page