Sync issues with flash unit

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by sincere, Jan 11, 2009.

  1. sincere

    sincere TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Berlin
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I got me two of these 150W flash units (http://www.fotoimpex.de/shop/images/artikel/detail/ADOLIGHT_150_Kit.jpg they where in a kit with two umbrellas, black and white one for like 250$) and when shooting analog, they both work in sync but when i use my 400D, they dont.

    Its either one of the flashes fires when i am focusing with the release button or they dont fire at all together. The dude at the store gave me a synch cable, wich unfortunately doesnt fit so i only had a chance to try this without the cable. will have to go back for that tomorrow.

    If i still dont get it to work, i will bring the kit back and look for a different solution so feel free and school me on whatever you may think is right..
     
  2. jlykins

    jlykins TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    If you don't have a sync connection, you can get a hotshoe to pc adapter.
     
  3. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,817
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    If the cable doesn't fit...how are you firing them at all?

    I'm guessing these have built-in optical slaves triggers...meaning that they go off when then sense another flash. However, you can't use your camera's built-in flash to fire them because the built-in flash uses a pre-flash for metering. The pre-flash will trigger the lights and then the actual flash will fire very soon thereafter...and the lights won't have had a chance to recycle.

    Since your camera doesn't have the right connection to attach the cable, you can get an adapter that sits in your camera's hotshoe.
    Smith-Victor | Hot Shoe to PC Adapter | 690041 | B&H Photo Video
     
  4. zapman29

    zapman29 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Okinawa
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Yeah I have something similar... you will need a hot shoe adapter for the 400... My 40d allows the sync cable and works great... the 350 and 400 dont work with out adapters...
     
  5. Lostbox

    Lostbox TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    before you use a hot shoe sync check out the power that it puts through the camera and that your camera can take this,

    A student when I was studying forgot to do this and it fried the inside of his camera.

    also how are you syncing them at the moment if your not using a lead?
     
  6. usayit

    usayit No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    9,523
    Likes Received:
    344
    Location:
    North New Jersey, United States of America
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Or you can just buy the Wein hot shoe safe sync adapter. It too has a PC sync port built right into it as well as protect your camera from any damaging high trigger voltages.
     
  7. Lostbox

    Lostbox TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    yep, that sounds like the better easier option :D
     
  8. sincere

    sincere TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Berlin
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Ok, this is a liiiittle too much for me right now,hehe..

    Mike: yes they go off as soon as some flash goes off but as i said earlier, that isnt working well because when i tip on the release button to focus, the flash tends to go off like almost every time..

    Lostbox: how do i determine how much power it puts thru the camera? The flash units are 150watts each.

    usayit: thanks for the advice, i will look into this if i fiugre out that the cheap one for like 10$ will fry my camera..
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

flash sync issues