Take it to the next level: what to buy (Canon)

Trebaxus

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Dear all,

There is so much out there when it comes to lenses, it is a bit overwhelming to me.

I am an amateur photographer who loves to travel and occasionally makes a nice picture. I do this with my Canon EOS 7D body and a current set of objectives:

- Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 telemacro
- Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8
- Canon EF 24mm f/2.8
- Canon EF 50mm f/1.8

As I moved past my period as a student and have a paying job right now, there is a bit more budget. Not unlimited, but if it is worth it I am willing to pay up for some good replacements of my current set.

I am planning to replace the Tamron 70-200 with the Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM II. During travel I often experience too little time to get my tripod out before taking a (wildlife) picture. I would give away or sell off the old Tamron lense without IS (also the switch between M and AF zoom isn't working that well anymore, so it is up for repair anyway which might not be worth its current value).

I hardly use the 70-300 lense, so I am not going to replace that. I do however would like to add a more all-round landscape/city photography lense to my collection. So that I don't have to change lenses during the day. And I would like to shoot better landscape pictures.

I am thinking of acquiring:

- Canon EF 16-35mm f/4.0 L IS USM for the landscape photography

And am thinking of either the Canon EF 24-70mm F/2.8 L USM or the Canon EF 24-105mm F/4.0 L IS II USM as a standard lense to have on your body during a day in the city/bus.

What is your opinion? Are these wise additions? And isn't the 24-105 range too large to get good quality pictures over the whole range? The EF 24-70 however, doesn't have IS if I am correctly.

If you have got alternatives I would really appreciate your opinion and advice!

Many thanks!