taking it in

JonMikal

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
to me, this image breaks all the rules, especially composition as i feel i should have included more of the sitter and door frame, but at times i like the 'cutoff' look. the negative space at the top and bottom, at times, seem too much as well. i wasn't really trying to say anything with this that i know off; telling a story through an image is a new concept for which im still learning. mostly, i'm drawn to what my eye sees with no thought of conveying messages/stories. i'm working on that. i did a little crop and b&w treatment (which i'm not happy with either....the light sucked and i didn't have a pod). anyway, before i let this go i wanted to get your thoughts. thanks for any help you can lend.

OTE

25318250-L-1.jpg

Not keen on the distortion created by the lens, having a preference for horizontal lines to be horizontal, rather than curved, and would have cropped the top about level with the door frame

Just had a little play with it, and I think that you have a couple of crops in there that would work - if you sorted out the lines etc.

One is to crop along the back of the sofa and around the square panel on the wall so you have the figure at the bottom of the shot with the painting and surround out in front (does that make sense?)

and the other is to crop put the door and the bit of panel to the left leaving the sofa and the two paintings in the frame.

It looks a bit unfinished as it is - alternative is to go back and get the doorway in as well and use less of a wide angle to keep it straight

it is the strangest picture I have ever seen... I don't know what to say. On one hand it is extremely interesting Because the door is cropped out I don't know what's there and I'm wondering what might be there. But on the other the distortion is distracting. The lines are not straight what annoys me a bit.