Tall Ship

kwjones

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
DSC00110.jpg

Ok, I'm a newbie that got tired of lurking. I'm looking for some tips. I can't/don't edit any of my photos since I don't have PS. About the most I do is cropping.

I wouldn't consider my camera "great", in fact the auto focus on it makes me yell strings of profanities on any given picture. It's a Sony Cyber Shot DSC-50, 2.1 Megapixel. (Looking to upgrade to a Digital SLR in the next year)

OK...let me have it...

Kevin

Not much wrong with this photo, Kevin. Very nice atmosphere. All I personally would have liked to see is the sun not yet quite so set as it is here. That's all. And that's nothing but a personal preference and no critique. I'm too much of an amateur myself to pass any serious critique, anyway, for I am all unfamiliar with the technical aspect of taking photos.

Shake hands on not changing too much about your photos for the lack of PS on the computer. Although this kind of after-the-shot manipulation IS an art in itself, indeed (and I acknowledge that), me, the "old print" photographer who also has to rely on the (hopefully!) good work of a large lab who do the processing for me, have to see to it that my photos get "nice" the moment I take them... maybe that's why I am happy about any unprocessed photo (other than digitalised on the scanner and maybe better framed) I get to see here.

Sunset and a tall ship. Makes me want to have a seat with my wife, a pitcher of margaritas or 6 pack of Red Stripe, and a Jimmy Buffett CD playing in the background.