telephoto and wide angle lens

echoyjeff222

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
As it pertains to landscape photography ... from what I have read so far, the main difference is the ability to skew perspective. Telephoto = makes background larger/ closer than it appears, wide angle = background smaller/farther than usual. Are there any other major differences that I should consider when I use these two lenses for landscape shots? In other words, what situations call for which lenses? Any good rules of thumb?

Also, are macro lenses any good? I just borrowed one from the school, but I've never used them before. What's the main difference between a macro lens vs. the regular one I got (EF-S18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM).

A macro lens will allow to to shoot close-up, very close up. A true macro will allow you to shoot at a 1x magnification. That means if you shoot, say a penny, the image of the penny will be captured on the sensor at the same size as it is in real life.

As to telephoto and wide angle ... a telephoto will bring something far away closer, it will reduce your normal Field of Vision (FOV). A wide angle will increase your FOV to encompass a wider view than what you normally see.

Typically, wide angles are used for landscapes in order to capture a wide vista look. Telephotos are often used to compress the image ... those landscape photos showing mountain ridges all compressed together are shot with a telephoto.

Your choice of lens should be determined by your vision, your mental image of what you desires the final image to be ... to look like ... to reflect.

As the term 'macro' has no official definition, it is subject to misuse by the industry. This results in confusion in the uninformed.