Telephoto for My D40?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by .:On The Rock:., Sep 10, 2008.

1. .:On The Rock:.

.:On The Rock:. TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi there,
    I'm relatively new to the photography world. I got my first SLR a couple of months back and since then I've bought the nikkor 50mm f/1.8. Now, along with the lagging kit lens, I want to expand my collection with a much needed telephoto. Trouble is, I don't know what I want, or what I need for that matter. I have under nine hundred bones to throw at it.

Now I know what macro means and what it achieves, but I don't know what it means to me, in a sense that I don't know what I need. I'm thinking I need a telephoto for nature, icebergs, a few concerts, an maybe the odd mtb race. So maybe I do need a macro for this.

I pulled these off another thread which losts all compatible lenses for D40's.

AF-S VR 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ~ $500

AF-S 80-200mm f/2.8D ED-IF < can't find a price??? (I'm gussing this is a pricy one)

50-500mm f/4.0-6.3 EX DG ~ $1000

50-150mm f/2.8 EX DC HSM ~ $650

70-200mm f/2.8 EX DG Macro ~ $900

80-200mm f/2.8 EX DG Macro < can't find a price???

80-400mm f/4-5.6 EX OS ~ $1100

Also, the tamron sp af 70-200mm F/2.8 Di macro wouldn't by chance be left out of this list? It seems like a good lens for the price, but I doubt it would be compatible with my camera.

2. chrisburke

chrisburke TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    the 80-200 is about 1000 bucks...

to answer your question, we should probably know your price range... i notice that you did post the high priced lens... so does that mean that price isnt an issue?

3. .:On The Rock:.

Photos OK to edit
    I said around $900, sorry if I wasn't clear. You'll have to really convince me to spend any more for the $1000 or $1100 one. I seem to be having trouble even finding out if the AF-S 80-200mm f/2.8D ED-IF even exists. I can only find the AF version, which is no good to me.