Telephoto for My D40?

.:On The Rock:.

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi there,
I'm relatively new to the photography world. I got my first SLR a couple of months back and since then I've bought the nikkor 50mm f/1.8. Now, along with the lagging kit lens, I want to expand my collection with a much needed telephoto. Trouble is, I don't know what I want, or what I need for that matter. I have under nine hundred bones to throw at it.

Now I know what macro means and what it achieves, but I don't know what it means to me, in a sense that I don't know what I need. I'm thinking I need a telephoto for nature, icebergs, a few concerts, an maybe the odd mtb race. So maybe I do need a macro for this.

I pulled these off another thread which losts all compatible lenses for D40's.

AF-S VR 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ~ $500

AF-S 80-200mm f/2.8D ED-IF < can't find a price??? (I'm gussing this is a pricy one)

50-500mm f/4.0-6.3 EX DG ~ $1000

50-150mm f/2.8 EX DC HSM ~ $650

70-200mm f/2.8 EX DG Macro ~ $900

80-200mm f/2.8 EX DG Macro < can't find a price???

80-400mm f/4-5.6 EX OS ~ $1100

Also, the tamron sp af 70-200mm F/2.8 Di macro wouldn't by chance be left out of this list? It seems like a good lens for the price, but I doubt it would be compatible with my camera.

the 80-200 is about 1000 bucks...

to answer your question, we should probably know your price range... i notice that you did post the high priced lens... so does that mean that price isnt an issue?

I said around $900, sorry if I wasn't clear. You'll have to really convince me to spend any more for the $1000 or $1100 one. I seem to be having trouble even finding out if the AF-S 80-200mm f/2.8D ED-IF even exists. I can only find the AF version, which is no good to me.

If you're just starting out and not into serious photography you could save money by buying some sigma lenses, good quality and a little cheaper.