Sam6644

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.photographic-evidence.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Lets assume I have no money invested in either system;

I'm looking for a new camera. I'm a photojournalism student, I currently work for the school newspaper (which is a pretty good one), I shoot a lot of events both indoors and outdoors- day and night, sports are always a possible assignment, I also shoot more creative stuff for hobby.

I'm currently at a crosspoint where I am shooting more seriously and more often. I am also at a point where I have ot start taking my gear more seriously and start buying stuff with the future in mind as well. I'm currently a nikon guy but I'm more than willing to switch to Canon right now if it seems like the better route.

The two cameras I'm considering are the D300s and the 7D. Why or why shouldn't I buy either one? I'm learning toward the 7D right now.

Thanks folks

Could be debated all night... it comes down to a few features on either end and which are the most important to you.

I chose the D300s mainly for the 51 point auto focus and dual card slots, the Geotagging capability is nice as well. 720p HD video is plenty for my needs, and a secondary consideration when choosing my camera. Some say it's worthless, but I'll never buy another camera without video ability.

video is becoming increasingly more important for photojournalists with the amount of web stuff you're responsible for these days... that makes the 7D pretty appealing.

In reality, which ever of these two cameras I end up buying, it'll become a backup camera in 2 or 3 years when I get out of school and move into something full.

So I guess my question is a little less about the body and more about the two systems. I know this sounds like a trite Nikon/Canon debate, but I'm hoping my specific needs make it lean a little more in either direction.